Information & Past Honorees


An industry institution. The Connie Award was established by the Containerization & Intermodal Institute in 1972 to recognize individuals that have made extraordinary contributions to the evolution of containerized shipping and intermodalism. Named for the container, the Connie Award quickly grew in stature as a recognition of achievement and dedication by peers. The award has gone to an eclectic group — from the heads of railroads and ocean carriers to top government officials, media executives and even to managers within a port authority whose contributions were acknowledged by the industry.

The Connie networking events are a consistent sell-out because of its class reunion atmosphere that makes it a “must” event on everyone’s calendar. There’s an annual Connie Award event held in December and includes the awarding of scholarships to midshipmen from Kings Point, the SUNY Maritime College at Fort Schuyler, Rutgers University and other schools. Both Crowley Maritime and New York Container Terminal present annual scholarships at this event.

In 2009, CII presented the prestigious Connie Awards on the West Coast in Long Beach, CA. Due to the overwhelming success and reception of this dinner, CII has made it an annual event also introduced a Midwest Connie dinner in 2011.

Click here to see photos from the 2016 Connie Awards in Newark and Long Beach.

Nicola Arena
Karl Bakke
Don C. Becker
Honorable Helen Delich Bentley
Ken Bloom
Lillian Borrone
John Bowers
Claudio Bozzo
Robert Bray
J. Russell Bruner
James E. Butcher
James A. Capo
Dr. Y. F. Chang
The Honorable Mario Cordero
Matthew J. Cox
L. Stanley Crane
Harold Creel Jr.
Thomas B. Crowley, Sr.
Robert A. Curry, Sr.
Manuel (Mike) Diaz
James J. Devine
Raymond P. Ebeling
James D. English
Conrad Everhard
Wolfgang Freese
Rick Gabrielson
Peter J. Gatti, Jr.
Alan Glass
Jon Hemingway
David Howard
Jesse C. Jessen
R. Kenneth Johns
Dr. Leslie Kanuk
Christopher Koch
Captain S.Y. Kuo
C. Peter Lambos
Carol Notias Lambos
Richard Larrabee

Jacques Leblanc
Rudiger (Rudy) Mack
M. Brian Maher
Michael Maher
Robert McEllrath
James McKenna
John McLaurin
Malcom P. McLean
Ray Miles
James I. Newsome III
Michael B. Northen
Clifford B. O’Hara
Donald C. Orris
Robert Pfeiffer
Olav Rakkenes
Charles G. Raymond
Paul F. Richardson
Eric Ridder
Michael Sacco
Clifford Sayre
George Schember
Anthony Scioscia
Bruce Seaton
Warren Serenbetz
Richard Steinke
Knud Stubkjaer
H. Winchester Thurber
Douglas A. Tilden
David J. Tolan
William F. Toohey
Dr. Anil J. Vitarana
Hays Watkins
Ronald D. Widdows
Phillip C. Yeager
Alberto Alemán Zubieta

Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

Institute of International Container Lessors (IICL)
Michael B. Berzon
Joseph Bonney
Joanne “Joni” Casey
Joseph C. Curto
Dr. Geraldine Knatz
Sandy Hook Pilots
Stanley O. Sher
Richard A. Simpson
Barbara S. Yeninas
Tay Yoshitani

For information on last year’s Connie Awards, click here.